Trauermusik Website Banner Thin.jpg

Special Event - Trauermusik

Join us on Sunday 22nd October for the world premiere of an Australian reconstruction by Dr Mark Smith of The Funeral Music for Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Köthen BWV 244a by J.S. Bach. This passion-like work is scored for SATB soloists, chamber choir, and a baroque orchestra of strings, recorders, flutes, oboes and continuo, and is considered to be a precursor to much of the music in Bach's St Matthew Passion. We are very grateful to those who are supporting this project, including the Robert Salzer Foundation and the Australian Bach Society. 

Featuring vocal soloists Katherine Norman (soprano), Max Riebl (counter-tenor), Robert Macfarlane (tenor) and Michael Leighton-Jones (bass), with the talented musicians of the Melbourne Baroque Orchestra.

Sunday 22nd October, 3:00pm
St John's Southgate
20 City Road, Southbank VIC 3006
Premium $50 | Standard $40 | Student $25

Premium ticket holders will have a section of reserved seating available to them. 
Unreserved seating for Standard and Student ticket holders.

Please note that a $0.30 per ticket booking fee applies to online TryBooking ticketing transactions.

The Lost Funeral-Music by Bach

Klagt, Kinder, klagt es aller Welt (Cry, children, cry to all the world), also called Köthener Trauermusik (Köthen funeral music), BWV 244a was probably composed by J.S. Bach throughout 1727 and 1728 for Leopold, Prince of Anhalt—Köthen. The music is lost, but the libretto survives. As Bach is known to have used musical material which also appeared in his St. Matthew Passion, it has been possible to make reconstructions. One re-construction attempt was made by Dr Mark Smith from Adelaide in 2001 and deposited in the Bach Archive Leipzig.

Read about Dr Mark Smith's reconstruction.

Read the Translation.